Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search




Search Results Showing Item 3 of 3

Before we were yours : a novel / Lisa Wingate.

Wingate, Lisa, (author.).

Available copies

  • 4 of 19 copies available at BC Interlibrary Connect. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Fort Nelson Public Library.

Current holds

8 current holds with 19 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Fort Nelson Public Library FIC WIN (Text) 35246000926590 Adult Fiction (main level) Volume hold In transit -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780425284681
  • Physical Description: 342 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, 2017.
  • Badges:
    • Top Holds Over Last 5 Years: 5 / 5.0

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--Provided by publisher.
Subject: Brothers and sisters > Fiction.
Kidnapping victims > Fiction.
Kidnapping > Fiction.
Orphanages > Fiction.
Families > Fiction.
Family secrets > Fiction.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 3 of 3

Additional Resources